Alumni

Questions? Contact Alumni Relations Manager, Annie Gordon Thomas '06 at AThomas@dcds.edu.

Homecoming and Reunions

Homecoming Week 2019

Monday, September 30th – Saturday October 5th

Schedule of Events

Monday 9/30

Alumni readers program
Sign-up to come back to school to read a children’s book to our Lower School students.

Tuesday 10/1

Alumni readers program
Sign-up to C come back to school to read a children’s book to our Lower School students.

jewelry making with Jiro Masuda '86
6:00 – 7:30 PM | Upper School Metals Room
Register to learn about our metals program at DCDS and create something to take home! Light appetizers provided. (Children welcome)

Wednesday 10/2

Alumni readers program
Sign-up to come back to school to read a children’s book to our Lower School students.

Civil war lecture with don corwin
6:00 – 7:00 PM | Upper School Room XXX
Relive your glory days in a DCDS history class. Mr. Corwin guides us through some of the most important battles of the Civil War. Light appetizers provided.

Thursday 10/3

Alumni readers program
Sign-up to come back to school to read a children’s book to our Lower School students.

Alumni open gym

7:00 PM | Upper School Shaw Gym

Open to all alums, come shoot hoops with your DCDS alumni friends, or bring your kids!

Friday 10/4

alumni council sponsored happy hour
Come with your DCDS friends for a happy hour sponsored by our DCDS Alumni Council.
Appetizers and One Drink Provided
5:30 – 7:00 PM | Location: TBD

Saturday 10/5

10:00 AM | Junior Jacket Half Mile

10:15 AM | Yellowjacket Fun Run 

TENT: 10:30 AM | Breakfast of Champions 

12:30 PM  | Alumni Tailgate Lunch  

1:00 PM | Alumni Honorary Captain and Homecoming Football Game

Halftime:  Alumni Band Performance 

register for events

 

One Country Day Reunion 2019

Class Year Ending in 4 or 9, your reunion is Friday, November 29th, 2019!

Detroit Country Day School | 6:00-8:00

Catch up with friends and faculty, enjoy appetizers and drinks, take tours of the school and meet DCDS alums from other class years.

RSVP

Help coordinate your class’ reunion!

reunion volunteer guide

 

Events

Alumni Calendar

August 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3
Sun, Aug 4
Mon, Aug 5
Tue, Aug 6
Wed, Aug 7
Thu, Aug 8
Fri, Aug 9
Sat, Aug 10
Sun, Aug 11
Mon, Aug 12
Tue, Aug 13
Wed, Aug 14
Thu, Aug 15
Fri, Aug 16
Sat, Aug 17
Sun, Aug 18
Mon, Aug 19
Tue, Aug 20
Wed, Aug 21
Thu, Aug 22
Fri, Aug 23
Sat, Aug 24
Sun, Aug 25
Mon, Aug 26
Tue, Aug 27
Wed, Aug 28
Thu, Aug 29
Fri, Aug 30
Sat, Aug 31
Sun, Sep 1

Alumni Communications

Not getting our emails? Let us know! Contact Alumni Relations Manager, Annie Gordon Thomas '06 at AThomas@dcds.edu

Emails to Alumni

Alumni Newsletter

Share your life changes, accomplishments, and adventures! Email thebuzz@dcds.edu for submissions to the Alumni Newsletter.

Directory

Visit our alumni directory page to look up classmates.

We're working on updating our database so that you may look up classmates by class year and city and reach out to them via Linked In. We also invite you to join our DCDS Alumni Linked In group. Should you find your information is incorrect or if you wish to be removed from our directory, please contact Alumni Relations Manager, Annie Gordon Thomas '06 at AThomas@dcds.edu

支持

Volunteer

The are are many ways to support Detroit Country Day School. Spending your time with your peers, current students, and faculty enhances the DCDS experience for everyone. We welcome alumni to share their experiences with our community. Listed below are ways to remain involved with the School community.

Class Agent

As a Class Agent, you play a pivotal role in helping us promote engagement within our alumni community and encourage attendance at events and reunions. 

Volunteer at Open House

Open to both alumni and parents of alumni

Open House is an exciting time when we are able to show the broader community our school and vision for an exceptional education. Join us on that day to speak with prospective parents and students about your experience as a parent and/or student at DCDS.

Sunday, October 20, 2019 1:00 - 3:00 PM

Senior Project Host

Open to both alumni and parents of alumni

Since the 1960s, the Senior Project program has given our seniors the opportunity to experience the "real world" in a field they have interest in pursuing in college or just want to learn more about. The seniors spend the month of May on Senior Project, and then return to school on a date in June to present to teachers, parents, peers, and guests on what they learned from their experience. Fill out the Volunteer form linked below if you are interested in hosting a student for May 2020.

Host a Regional Alumni Gathering

Gather YOUR region's local DCDS alumni for a fun get-together! Regional hosts pick the location and help us get alumni there. DCDS will foot the bill for food, create the communication outreach, and send a spirit box of DCDS goodies for the party! Fill out the Volunteer form if you would like to plan the gathering

This opportunity is open to alumni living outside of the state of Michigan. Please note that DCDS is able to purchase food for this event, but not alcohol.

Other Opportunities

Throughout the year, there are many other events and programs providing the opportunity to connect with students and other alumni whether it be for career advice, networking, or just social reasons. Look for our emails or visit the Events tab on this page to see what is available.

Give Back

支持 Our Community

As one of our Alumni, you play an important role in ensuring that the students who follow your graduating year, have the same opportunities and experiences that were provided during your time at DCDS. By making a gift, of any size to our Annual Fund, alumni can collectively support and ensure that students are given opportunities for character-building, critical thinking challenges, and self-discovery. Our Annual Fund supports

  • Programming such as writing workshops with professional authors and moviemakers, guest speakers and performers  
  • Engaging and educational class field trips 
  • Purchasing state-of-art athletic and art equipment
  • Improving and repairing of facilities and grounds
  • Assisting families with financial needs  

Every gift is valued and meaningful. Please consider continuing our legacy to graduate students who are incredible and impressive additions to our alumni community.

Give now

Spirit Wear

Our Earning 4 Learning parent organization has partnered EA graphics to offer a year-round spirit wear store. A portion of proceeds from each sale comes back to E4L and directly benefits the DCDS community.

Order Spirit wear

Earning 4 Learning also offers other ways to use your regular shopping habits and purchasing power to give back to the school. To learn more visit their web page.

Meet Our Alumni